Last Saturday I went to the grocery store. While I was waiting to pay, the young man behind me was placing his groceries on the belt while talking on his cell phone. thoughtful clip artThe clerk asked him if he wanted paper or plastic bags. In a distracted-sounding voice he answered, “It doesn’t matter.” My immediate interior response was, “Yes it does.”

Over the course of the day I kept re-playing that incident in my mind. Eventually I came to see it from a new perspective and could recognize myself in that young man’s shoes. How often do I multi-task or simply feel overwhelmed by the demands of daily life, and choose to do what’s easy instead of what’s right? It often means that I’m at the center of my choices and not the common good.

The season of Lent is a perfect time to practice living in the present moment with our eyes open. During Lent we’re invited to re-order our lives and strive to place Jesus and his Gospel at the center of all we do—right down to our choice of grocery bags. I’m using living in the present moment as my Lenten practice this year. Want to join me?

