In the Gian Carlo Menotti opera, Amahl and the Night Visitors, the mother of Amahl, a little boy who walks only with a crutch, is asked by one of the  kings searching Untitledfor Jesus, Have you seen a child, the color of wheat, the color of dawn? His eyes are mild, His hands are those of a King, as King He was born.” “Yes,” says the mother, “I know a child the color of wheat, the color of dawn. His eyes are mild, his hands are those of a King, as King he was born. But no one will bring him incense or gold, though sick and poor and hungry and cold. He’s my child, my son my darling my own.”

As we prepare to celebrate the Christ who has already come among us, we might also ask, have we seen him? Where do we meet him?

P1020344Tagore, the Indian born poet, wrote,Have you not heard his silent steps? He comes, comes, ever comes. Every moment and every age, every day and every night he comes, comes, ever comes. . . . In the fragrant days of sunny April through the forest path he comes, comes, ever comes. In the rainy gloom of July nights on the thundering chariot of clouds he comes, comes, ever comes. In sorrow after sorrow it is his steps that press upon my heart, and it is the golden touch of his feet that makes my joy to shine.”

May you meet the Christ as he comes to you today, on Christmas, and everyday!

