This time next week we’ll be celebrating Thanksgiving. For many people, this involves extra time in the kitchen, perhaps some extra travel, and often extended time with friends and family. Knowing how full Thanksgiving day can be, I gratitude clip artdecided that this year I would start early—not cooking, but reflecting. I want to spend this week delving more deeply into ways I can live from a stance of gratefulness all year long. I invite you to join me.

Here are two resources I’m using and find helpful. Maybe you will, too. One is by Vinita Hampton Wright, a former colleague from my years at Loyola Press. Her article is entitled Finding Your Perfect Point of Gratitude. Brother David Steindl-Rast is a Benedictine monk who “lives gratefulness” and speaks and writes extensively on the topic. I’ve been praying with his Pledge for Grateful Living and keep trying to make it my own. There is so much on his website that you can spend a long time there, and it will be time well-spent. 

Are there some ways you’ve found to live from a place of gratitude? What have you found helpful? I invite you to share your thoughts in the comment box. We can all enrich each other.

 

