I’m writing this post on my first day back at work in almost 2 weeks. Between a couple of commitments, a trip to California to visit my family, and one vacation day tossed in for good measure, I managed to let go of “work mode” and truly live “vacation mode.” It is pure gift.

At Mass last weekend, Fr. Craig shared about his own recent vacation in Colorado. One of the phrases he repeated like a mantra was, “When I slow down, everybody benefits.” He spoke about consciously disconnecting from electronics, engaging in conversations with the friends he was with, being nourished by natural beauty, and purposely not spending time in front of any kind of screen. As a result, he felt more centered, rested, and fully alive, and the people back home reap the CA redwoodbenefit.

While in California I enjoyed a walk through the redwood grove in Golden Gate Park. Standing among these ancient trees makes life fall into perspective for me. I remember who I am, and who I’m not. It’s as if something in my brain automatically gets reset. I stand taller. I breathe deeper. You might have a place like that, too. When was the last time you were there?

This morning I felt happy to be back and looked forward to seeing the people I work with. I found myself singing as I walked down the hall to my office. When we slow down, everybody benefits.

 

 

