UntitledAs the one year anniversary approaches, those affected by the 2014 pain and civil unrest in Ferguson, Missouri  continue to rebuild a community of healing and hope.  The St. Louis Mass Mob III–bringing people together in worship–took place last Sunday.  In the beautiful church of Sts. Teresa and Bridget in North St. Louis, hundreds of people joined hands and voices in a liturgy of lively singing, welcome, dance and heartfelt prayer. I was especially moved by the closing hymn, Souled Out, that vibrated with the conviction of many:

I am souled out.  I’ve come through the fire, I’ve come through the rain.  But God, He never left my side.  He’s my comfort through all hurt and pain. No room, no vacancies, I’m all filled up.  His spirit lives in me and that’s the reason I’m souled out!  Yeah!

