windowWhile visiting the Ursulines in Slovakia last winter, I was impressed by the beauty of windows I saw in an old castle.  Some allowed sunlight to fill a darkened room, while others opened up brilliant views of the outside. What struck me was their simple beauty and, at the same time, essential purpose.  These windows speak to me of Jesus’ desire that we be light for our world, helping others see their own P1020698inner goodness as well as open outward to Him, the Way, the Truth and the Life. To do this, we must remember his challenge: How can you say to your neighbor, ‘Friend, let me take out the speck in your eye,’ when you yourself do not see the log in your own eye? First take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your neighbor’s eye.” 

