Over the weekend I took a trip south from St. Louis to visit our Ursuline community in Cape Girardeau, Missouri. I’m happy to introduce you to Sisters Theresa Davey, Marianne Mullen, and Mary Ellen Neeves who minister in a variety of ways to the people of Cape Girardeau and beyond.Cape OSU_2

First off, I want to give a shout-out to the parishioners of St. Vincent de Paul parish where Sr. Theresa is the Christian Service Coordinator. I experienced their warm hospitality and deep faith at the Saturday evening Mass for the Feast of Christ the King. Besides their presence and service in the parish, the Ursulines serve the needs of the broader Cape community through their work at the Catholic Food Pantry, Love Inc, Chateau Cape Girardeau Nursing Facility, and a local public school kindergarten. It was clear to me in just the short time I was there how valued is the presence and witness of these 3 Ursulines by the people they serve.

