UntitledWinston Churchill said, “to improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often.”  This makes me chuckle as I think of all the change I’ve had in my life, and how much there is all around us today.  I wonder if it really leads to perfection.

A recent article on the Forbes website about job hopping said that 91% of millennials expect to stay in a job for less than three years.  It then offered advice to human resource officers for coping with such change: offer workplace flexibility, listen to your employees, communicate the company’s mission and values, and keep an open mind.  Again, I had to smile.  I think we Sisters have been doing just this for centuries, and are even more committed to it today.

movingThere’s a lot of change among us Ursulines these days.  Sisters are moving to new residences (even at age 90+), provinces are merging, communities are forming to be more available to young people seeking their vocations, and Sisters of all ages try to discern the urgent needs of these times and how best to respond. There is workplace flexibility, deep listening to one another, a true sense of mission and values, and much, much openness.  I’m not sure it’s the same as that referred to in the Forbes article.  This flows from faith and long-time commitment, not to a job, but to a person, Jesus Christ.  This is change that leads to lasting joy.

I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for good and not evil, to give you a future and a hope.

