My backyard birdfeeder

Look at the birds in the sky. They do not sow or reap or gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they are? -Mt. 6:26

This is a view from the window in our guest room. Over the weekend I spent some quiet time in the soft chair watching the snow fall. This winter we’ve had lots of opportunities for this in Chicago! During the winter we feed the birds, and I love to sit and watch them. This time, the scripture passage from Matthew’s gospel came to mind. In my heart it got translated as, “God uses me to feed others.” Humans need different kinds of food—physical, emotional, spiritual, intellectual. I began to reflect on the ways that I feed others, and asked God to show me new ways. I also reflected on the ways that I am fed by others.

Reflecting on God’s Providence in your life is a good way to become aware of how God is calling you. It leads us to gratitude and a desire to serve God in others. Here are some questions that might help get you started.

  • What is something you enjoy doing? How does it “feed” you?
  • What is the most helpful thing you will do today for a friend? For a stranger? For yourself?
  • For what 3 things in your life are you most grateful? Why?
