InigoTomorrow is the feast of St. Ignatius Loyola, founder of the Jesuits and author of the Spiritual Exercises. During our Ursuline formation, we receive the gift of making the Spiritual Exercises twice in the form of a 30-day silent retreat: once during the novitiate and later during tertianship. I have a soft spot in my heart for all things Ignatian as, in addition to the long retreats, I used to work at Loyola Press, a Jesuit publishing company in Chicago. Ignatius was a master of discernment and “finding God in all things.” My current favorite book on Ignatius is Just Call Me Lopez by Margaret Silf. If you’re interested in learning more about St. Ignatius, be sure to check out Find Your Inner Iggy over at the Ignatian Spirituality facebook page. You can browse through the articles and also enter a contest to win some fun prizes, like an Ignatius bobble head doll or washable tattoo . Hurry because tomorrow is the last day! I’ll close with my favorite Ignatian prayer.

Take, Lord, and receive my memory, my understanding, my entire will. All that I have and possess. You have given all to me. To you I return it. Dispose of it entirely according to your will. Give me your love and your grace. This is enough for me.

