Ursuline logoYesterday was the anniversary of my profession as an Ursuline.  It seems like ages since I, a young 20 something, pronounced for the first time Vows of Poverty, Chastity and Obedience.  The joy of being called to live this life, as well as the gratitude for countless blessings, are as fresh and real in my heart today as they were so many years ago.

As a vocation director, I am often asked if I ever have regrets about choosing religious life.  My answer is always the same: I have had doubts along the way, but never regrets.  I think it is human to be tempted with doubt—about faith, about one’s ability to face challenges, about what lies ahead.  But in making decisions, I believe that if one has truly discerned that what one is choosing is in harmony with God’s desires for us, there will be no regrets. There will be only commitment, deep peace, and the unfolding of many blessings as one continues into the future.

Here’s an illustration of a young man who made a difficult choice and then saw the blessings that came from it.  What blessings from making good decisions do you recognize in your own life?

